Mississippi Heritage Trust Recognizes 43 Outstanding Preservation Victories and Heroes


 Mississippi Heritage Trust Recognizes 43 Outstanding Preservation Victories and Heroes at 2018 Heritage Awards Celebration


It was standing room only on Thursday, June 7, as preservationists from around the state gathered at the historic Ocean Springs Community Center to celebrate 43 amazing achievements in historic preservation.  Presented by BankPlus, the Heritage Award featured the Mississippi Heritage Trust's symbolic magnolia as interpreted by noted Mississippi artist Anthony Difatta.  


From the breathtaking restoration of the Mississippi State Capitol to the moving explorations in film that are part of Blue Magnolia Films’ Celebrating Storytellers Bicentennial Project, this year’s awards recognized the hard work and commitment of many individuals, civic organizations, educational institutions and local, county and state governments to preserve the places that tell the story of Mississippi.  A special award presented this year honored the forty years of service by Ken P’Pool, Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer for the Mississippi Department of Archives and History.  


Photographs and descriptions of Heritage Award recipients can be found here:




2018 Heritage Awards


Heritage Awards for Restoration

Columbus City Hall

Clarksdale Fire Station

Starkville Police Department

Bolivar County Courthouse, Cleveland

Madison County Courthouse, Canton

Pike County Courthouse, Holmesville

Hinds Community College, Administration Building, Raymond

Mississippi State University YMCA, Starkville

Millsaps Hotel Exterior Restoration, Hazlehurst

Cathedral of St. Peter the Apostle, Jackson

Dr. Gilbert R. Mason, Sr. Medical Office, Biloxi 

Rich Grain Distilling Co., Canton

Wier Boerner Allin Architecture, Jackson

Crosby Building, Canton

DANE Building, Canton

Merrill-Beasley House, Jackson

The Wierhouse, Brandon

Molly’s Place, Grenada

White Pillars, Biloxi

Wynne House Inn, Holly Springs

Fyke House, Jackson


Heritage Award for Archaeology

Moran Site, Biloxi


Heritage Awards for Education

The Mississippi Encyclopedia

Blue Magnolia Films-Emmett Till Fellowship Documentary Project

Blue Magnolia Films Celebrating Storytellers Bicentennial Project

The La Pointe-Krebs House Interpretive Museum, Pascagoula

Mississippi Department of Archives and History Two Mississippi Museums, Jackson

Biloxi Historic Cemetery Tour


Heritage Awards for Excellence in Stewardship

Mississippi State Hospital, Whitfield

Sedgewood Plantation, Canton


Heritage Awards for Catalyst Projects

Capitol Art Lofts, Jackson

Lofts at 517, Greenville


Heritage Awards for Organizational Achievement

Heritage Guild of Vicksburg and Warren County

Historic Ocean Springs Association


Mississippi Heritage Trust and Mississippi Department of Archives and History

Heritage Award for Excellence in Historic District Preservation

Mill Village Neighborhood Association, Tupelo


Heritage Award for Excellence in African American Preservation

Jackson State University Mt. Olive Cemetery Documentation and Preservation, Jackson


President’s Award for Outstanding Restoration

Mississippi State Capitol Exterior Restoration


Heritage Awards for Distinguished Service

Jessica Crawford

Dr. Scott Crawford

Liz Ford

Barbara Ray Kidd


Heritage Award for Outstanding Achievement in Public Policy

Senator Thad Cochran


Libby and Al Hollingsworth Award

Ken P’Pool